All Ireland Champions The Rower Inistioge GAA

All Ireland Champions The Rower Inistioge GAA

All Ireland Champions

All Ireland Champions, doesn’t it have a nice ring to it?

The Rower Inistioge were crowned All Ireland Champions creating history for the Kilkenny club after defeating Kilnadeema Leitrim of Galway after extra time in Croke Park on a wet and windy February evening.

The Rower Inistioge hit 11 wides inside the opening half, the first half was played with gale force winds and heavy rain right throughout. A 30th minute point from captain Michael Grace handed The Rower Inistioge a 0-04 to 0-03 lead at the interval, with Grace, Tom Murphy, and Ruairí Galavan getting The Rower Inistioge’s other scores.

Two points from Kilnadeema Leitrim in tou were struck after the interval but The Rower Inistioge dug deep and drove on. David Lyng struck their 12th wide just before the opening goal of the game in the 32nd minute. Ciarán Ryan broke loose from the Kilnadeema Leitrim defence and charged forward with great determination and pace, before striking the ball past Kevin Boyle.

Ciarán Ryan’s goal handed The Rower Inistioge a 1-04 to 0-03 lead, before Molloy and Joe Lyng traded points. The Rower Inistioge were unlucky not to add a second goal from Michael Grace, while at the opposite end 30 seconds later a Liam Geraghty goal cut the gap to a point in the 42nd minute.

Both sides were guilty of some missed chances, before Molloy equalised for Kilnadeema Leitrim with 13 minutes of normal time remaining.

The Rower Inistioge and Kilnadeema Leitrim continued to trade points, but it looked like The Rower Inistioge would be crowned All Ireland Champions as they moved 1-08 to 1-07 ahead on the stroke of injury time.

However, Molloy claimed his fifth point late on to force extra time.

Kilnadeema Leitrim moved ahead 90 seconds into injury time following a Geraghty point, but they wouldn’t score again, as The Rower Inistioge picked off eight points without reply winning the match on a scoreline of 1.16 to 1.9.

After the game The Rower Inistioge captain Michael Grace accepted the cup from the GAA President Liam Ó Neill and The Rower Inistioge were crowned All Ireland Champions, while their goalkeeper Liam Tierney claimed the AIB Man of the Match award, following some fine saves throughout.

All Ireland Champions The Rower Inistioge GAA

All Ireland Champions The Rower Inistioge GAA


facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather